Cork 1986 Team Honoured 2011-09-08 06:00:00

Cork 1986 Jubilee Team

By Jim O'Sullivan (from All-Ireland Match Programme)

So many recollections from the 1986 All-Ireland hurling final, not least that favourites Galway tasted defeat for the second successive year. Teddy McCarthy made his Championship debut for Cork and Jimmy Barry-Murphy brought the curtain down on a glorious career.

You had the Galway tactic of playing three at midfield backfiring after having worked spectacularly in their shock semi-final victory over Kilkenny and winning captain Tom Cashman in his speech having a gentle swipe at the Mayor of Galway over remarks he had earlier made about Cork's prospects.

Galway qualified in Semple Stadium on a 4-12 to 0-13 scoreline, giving them their first win over Kilkenny in 33 years. Manager Cyril Farrell's strategy was aimed at midfield dominance and utilisation of their speed in attack and yielded a rich dividend. The same day in Croke Park, Cork got the fright of their lives from Antrim before finishing 7-11 to 1-24.

Clearly resentful of the tag of outsiders going into the final, Cork produced a display which initially shocked Galway and ultimately overwhelmed them (4-13 to 2-15). Interestingly, Galway triumphed by the same margin in the semi-final the year before, when Barry-Murphy was ruled out by injury.

In his victory speech, Cashman singled out manager Johnny Clifford for special praise, commenting: "Johnny, you said we'd do it and we did."

"We struggled to beat Antrim and the way Galway defeated Kilkenny, they were favourites,'' he recalled last week. "Johnny did a lot of work in getting us focused.''

Cork devised a simple strategy of their own. Johnny Crowley - the ‘loose' defender - held his position and amazingly Galway played a lot of ball into his corner. Cork seized the initiative with an early John Fenton goal from a penalty, and with the defence outstanding in the second half, a superb goal from Tomás Mulcahy at a critical stage helped decide the outcome.

A few weeks later, Cashman and Clifford were invited up to Galway by the Mayor in a goodwill gesture. Nowadays, Cashman says that he is ‘remembered more' for his comment than for being the winning captain.

Ger Cunningham; Denis Mulcahy, Richard Brown, Johnny Crowley; Pat Hartnett, Tom Cashman (Captain; 0-1), Denis Walsh; John Fenton (1-4), Jim Cashman; Teddy McCarthy, Tomás Mulcahy (1-1), Tony O'Sullivan (0-1); Ger Fitzgerald (0-1), Jimmy Barry-Murphy (0-2), Kevin Hennessy (2-1). Subs: Frank O'Sullivan, Johnny O'Callaghan, Cathal Casey, John Meyler, Kieran Kingston (0-2) (for Fenton, injured), John Fitzgibbon. The team was managed by Johnny Clifford.

Photo courtesy Sportsfile

To see all Cork's Senior Hurling teams and results down through the years, visit the History section above.


Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by