Munster GAA Hall of Fame Honours Ray Cummins 2015-12-09 13:30:00

Munster GAA Hall of Fame honours Ray Cummins. Cork’s five-time All-Ireland winning dual star Ray Cummins (St Michaels/Blackrock) will be inducted into the Munster GAA Hall of Fame on Saturday night.

He will be honoured at the provincial council’s annual awards gala dinner, which takes place in Dromoland Castle.

Cummins was an influential force as a forward in the Cork footballers' All Ireland victory in ’73 and with the hurlers’ three-in-a-row between 1976 (as captain), and ’77 / â€™78. 

Ray Cummins is one of only three Cork men to win 12 Munster medals and became the first of four players to win All-Stars in both codes, picking up four in hurling and one in football in 1971.

A double provincial minor medal winner in 1966, Cummins was also a key member of the Munster team which won the Railway Cup title for the first time since 1949.

Munster chairman Robert Frost acknowledged the Hall of Fame recipient: “Ray Cummins was one of the greatest ever dual players and was instrumental in Cork’s All-Ireland senior football triumph in 1973. His many achievements are worthy of recognition and I am delighted to see him honoured with this year’s Hall of Fame awards.”


Read our tribute feature on 'Ray Cummins - Dual Star' in Cork GAA Yearbook.


Munster GAA Hall of Fame recipients 2015 -

Ray Cummins (Cork - Hall of Fame Football)

Ger Loughnane (Clare - Hall of Fame Hurling)

Paul Collins (Tipperary and Today FM – Media)

Michael Wadding (Waterford - Services to Refereeing)

Michael Ryan (Waterford - Special Merit Award)

Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick - Intermediate Hurling)

Conor Cox (Kerry - Junior Football)

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by