Cork SFC Final: Nemo Rangers 1-10 Castlehaven 0-11 2015-10-25 17:57:00

Cork SFC final: Nemo Rangers 1-10 Castlehaven 0-11. Nemo win at the second attempt. Nemo Rangers are Cork champions for a record 19th time after they produced a strong closing quarter to see off Castlehaven in the final replay in Páirc Uí Rinn on Sunday.

From Denis Hurley in Páirc Uí Rinn

Trailing by 0-9 to 0-6 – and lucky that it wasn’t more, as goalkeeper Micheál Martin had had to save well to deny Michael Hurley – the city side found a way back into the game when Barry O’Driscoll got his hand to a Conor Horgan handpass to divert the ball to the 'Haven net.

Points from substitute James Masters and Paul Kerrigan opened up a lead and, though the 'Haven levelled again through Stephen Hurley and Chris Hayes, Steven O’Brien’s side were not to be denied.

Masters got his second after being set up by another sub, Peter Morgan, and then, after possession was kept impressively, Kerrigan converted the free after he was fouled himself, ensuring victory.

Seeking a third title in four years, the 'Haven looked likelier winners for long periods. After a tight first half, a Brian Hurley free and an ‘own point’ by Nemo defender Aidan O’Reilly meant that the west Cork side had a 0-7 to 0-5 lead at half-time.

It was 0-8 to 0-6 when Michael Hurley had a chance of what could have been a game-winning goal but Martin saved brilliantly, even if Mark Collins did point after Paudie Hurley played the resultant 45 to him.

O’Driscoll’s goal was the tonic Nemo needed though, and they pushed on from there.

Scorers for Nemo Rangers: P Kerrigan 0-04 (0-2 frees), B O’Driscoll 1-1, J Masters 0-02 (0-1 free), D Mehigan, C Horgan, A Cronin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Castlehaven: B Hurley 0-3 (frees), M Collins 0-2, C Hayes, S Hurley, S Cahalane, C Cahalane, D Cahalane 0-1 each, 0-1 own point.

Nemo Rangers: M Martin; A Cronin, C O’Shea, A O’Reilly; K Fulignati, T Ó Sé, A O’Donovan; D Niblock, M Dorgan; D Mehigan, B O’Driscoll, P Kerrigan; C Horgan, L Connolly, C O’Brien.

Subs: C Dalton for Connolly (12, injured), J Masters for Mehigan (42), P Morgan for Dorgan (56).

Castlehaven: P Hurley; R Whelton, D Limrick, T O’Leary; Damien Cahalane, C Hayes, J O’Regan; D Hurley, S Dineen; M Collins, S Cahalane, C Cahalane; B Hurley, Darragh Cahalane, M Hurley.

Subs: S Hurley for Darragh Cahalane (39), S Collins for Hayes (59), S Nolan for S Cahalane (60).

Referee: J Bermingham (Bride Rovers).

GAA Daily News

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by