Preview County SFC Final Replay Castlehaven v Nemo Rangers 2015-10-21 00:07:00

Preview Castlehaven v Nemo Rangers county Senior Football Championship Final replay Sunday October 25th Páirc Uí Rinn 3.30pm. 

For a fleeting few seconds late in last Sunday’s drawn County Senior Football final at Pairc Uí Rinn there was the promise of a fairytale finish for legendary footballer Tomás Ó Sé when he made one of those driving runs forward which regularly enriched his displays with the Kingdom.

However, the promise of a winning point didn’t materialise and we’ll have to wait until the week-end to see if he will join the long list of Kerrymen who hold Cork championship medals. 

No fewer than eleven from the Kingdom – among them current manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice and Paul Galvin – were members of the UCC team which triumphed in the last replayed final, back in 1999. Just two Cork natives were in the starting team, goalkeeper Alan Quirke and centre-forward and team captain Michéal Ó Croinín and the other two places were filled by players from Limerick and Tipperary. 

Nemo Rangers provided the opposition, their team including current manager Steven O’Brien and selectors Larry Kavanagh and Colin Corker and, by coincidence, they finished the drawn game with the same score they got last Sunday – 0-10 (with the students totalling 1-7). In their second meeting UCC came out on top with three points to spare, 1-11 to 1-8 and they were coached by Des Cullinane, a selector with recently crowned county hurling champions Glen Rovers. 

Interestingly, Castlehaven had been involved in a draw two years earlier, against Beara and they came out on the wrong side of a 1-10 to 1-7 scoreline in the replay. 

Of course, Nemo and Castlehaven have recent history in terms of having met in the 2013 final, when Seanie Cullinane led the West Cork outfit to a 0-16 to 1-11 victory. It was their third meeting in the campaign after a draw in the first round and a 4-10 to 1-12 win for the Haven in the replay. 

Experience tells us that replays rarely meet expectations. But we can be reasonably certain of one thing - that if Castlehaven are as wasteful in attack as they were last Sunday and Nemo don’t get a better return from their attack, it will probably be as closely contested. And don’t rule out extra time! 

*Nemo Rangers lead in the Roll of Honour. They contested their first final in 1970 and won the first of 18 titles in 1972. 

*Castlehaven were intermediate champions in 1978 and went all the way to the senior final the following year, when they lost to St. Finbarrs. They won the first of five titles in 1989. 


Preview: Jim O’Sullivan

Inset pics: The Andy Scannell Cup / Marc Ó Sé Nemo Rangers / David Limrick Castlehaven Captain

Photographers: George Hatchell & Diarmuid Greene Sportsfile

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by