Cork U21 Footballers Claim 4th Title in a Row! 2014-04-10 06:00:00

Cadbury Munster U21 Football Final

Cork 1-18 Tipperary 3-8

Cork clinched a fourth successive Munster U21 football title in front of an attendance of 4164 on April 9th as they withstood a determined challenge from Tipperary in the decider in Páirc Uí Rinn.

Report via

Despite conceding three goals, Cork advanced to an All-Ireland U21 semi-final meeting with Roscommon on Saturday April 19th in Portlaoise.

Sean Kiely struck a crucial second-half goal for Cork while corner-forwards Dan McEoin and Alan Cadogan hit 0-5 apiece to damage Tipperary’s hopes of triumphing.

Cork dominated the opening half with Cadogan, Brian O’Driscoll, and Kevin Crowley starring in the scoring stakes as they raced into a 0-10 to 0-3 lead by the 23rd minute. They also laid a powerful platform at midfield with Ian Maguire, Kevin Kavanagh and Kiely all contributing to their dominance in that sector.

However Tipperary then received a lifeline when Colman Kennedy showed great composure to shoot to the net just moments after coming on as a substitute. Tipperary only trailed by 0-12 to 1-5 at the interval and were still in the hunt for honours at that juncture.

The early stages of the second-half were dominated by Tipperary as they grabbed their second goal through Stephen O’Brien after great work by John McGrath and Greg Henry. Points soon after by Colin O’Riordan and Michael Quinlivan tied the teams at 0-13 to 2-7 by the 40th minute.

However Cork settled their challenge with three points in reply and then John Corkery placed Kiely who unleashed a thunderous left-foot shot to the net in the 49th minute.

Despite Henry firing home Tipperary’s third goal of the night, Cork survived to win out by four points with man-of-the-match Cadogan sealing the victory with a late point.

Cork now play Roscommon in the All-Ireland Semi-Final on Saturday April 19th at 3pm in Portlaoise.

Scorers for Cork: Alan Cadogan, Dan McEoin (0-4f) 0-5 each, Sean Kiely 1-1, Brian O’Driscoll 0-3 (0-1f), Kevin Crowley 0-2, Mark Sugrue (0-1f), John Corkery 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Michael Quinlivan 0-5 (0-3f), Greg Henry, Colman Kennedy 1-1 each, Steven O’Brien 1-0.

CORK: Micheál Martin (Nemo Rangers); Jamie Davis (Douglas), Conor Dorman (Bishopstown, capt.), Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers); Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh), Seán White (Clonakilty), Kevin Crowley (Millstreet); Kevin Fulignati (Nemo Rangers), Ian Maguire (St. Finbarr’s); Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), Mark Sugrue (Bandon), Sean Kiely (Ballincollig); Dan MacEoin (Ilen Rovers), John Corkery ( Aghabullogue), Alan Cadogan (Douglas).

Subs: Killian McIntyre (Carrigaline) for Sugrue (42), David Harrington (Adrigole) for McEoin (52), Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline) for Fulignati (55), Sam Ryan (St Finbarr’s) for Corkery (60), Darragh Murphy (Valley Rovers) for Maguire (60).

TIPPERARY: Gearoid Slattery (Cashel King Cormacs); Niall O’Sullivan (Moycarkey Borris), James Feehan (Killenaule), Conor O’Sullivan (Galtee Rovers); Adrian McGuire (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Seamus Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash); Steven O’Brien (Ballina), Colin O’Riordan (JK Brackens); John McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), Greg Henry (Killenaule); Liam McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials), Sean Flynn (Fr Sheehys)

Subs: Colman Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials) for Fahey (23), Joshua Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle) for Liam McGrath (46), Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials) for Niall O’Sullivan (50), Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials) for Henry (52), Ian Fahey for John McGrath (52), Liam Casey (Cahir) for O’Riordan (56).

Referee: Padraig O’Sullivan (Kerry)

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by