Cork Hurlers Secure the Points With Win Over Offaly 2014-03-09 16:32:00

Allianz Hurling League Division 1B Round 3
Cork 1-24 Offaly 1-18

THE PERFORMANCE WAS far from vintage but Cork did enough to see off Offaly in Division 1B of the Allianz Hurling League at Páirc Uí Rinn today.

Report via

Given that first place in the division is likely to come down to scoring difference, the Rebels will be disappointed that they never fully shook off their visitors and pulled away.

They will take some comfort from the fact that once Patrick Horgan’s 24th-minute goal put them 1-5 to 1-2 ahead, they never looked like losing. Before that, however, it was not so straightforward.

Though Horgan and Conor Lehane had put Cork 0-4 to 0-2 ahead, Dan Currams’ goal put Offaly in front. He fired low to the net from Conor Mahon’s pass after the Cork defence was caught napping.

Once the lead had been restored, Cork did impress, Séamus Harnedy and Aidan Walsh both helping themselves to points, and they were good value for a 1-12 to 1-4 half-time lead.

Despite Horgan opening the second-half scoring, Offaly responded well and two from Brian Carroll and one by captain Joe Bergin brought them back to within six points.

From there, the sides more or less traded points, though Cork had to be thankful to goalkeeper Anthony Nash for a fine save from Carroll on 61, when Cork led by 1-19 to 1-13. Frees from Bergin brought Offaly to within three late on, but Cork finished strongly.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 1-8 (0-4f), Séamus Harnedy 0-4, Aidan Walsh 0-3, Daniel Kearney, William Egan, Lorcán McLoughlin 0-2 each, Robert O’Shea, Brian Lawton, Conor Lehane 0-1 each.
Scorers for Offaly: Joe Bergin 0-6 (0-3f, 0-1 65), Brian Carroll 0-5 (0-5f), Dan Currams 1-1, Thomas Geraghty 0-3, Peter Geraghty, Stephen Quirke, Cathal Parlon 0-1 each.

CORK: Anthony Nash; Shane O’Neill, William Egan, Killian Murphy; Eoin Cadogan, Eoin Keane, Stephen McDonnell; Robert O’Shea, Lorcán McLoughlin; Daniel Kearney, Séamus Harnedy, Aidan Walsh; Patrick Horgan, Conor Lehane, Stephen Moylan.
Subs: Brian Hartnett for Moylan (47), Brian Lawton for Lehane (50), Christopher Joyce for Murphy (60), Michael Cahalane for Kearney (65), Cian McCarthy for Walsh (68).

OFFALY: James Dempsey; Niall Wynne, Rory Hanniffy, James Rigney; Cathal Parlon, Ger Healion, Dermot Mooney; Damien Kilmartin, Seán Ryan; Joe Bergin, Daniel Currams, Conor Mahon; Brian Carroll, Shane Dooley, Kevin Connolly.
Subs: Chris McDonald for Healion, Peter Geraghty for Ryan (both half-time), Thomas Geraghty for Mooney (49), Stephen Quirke for Dooley (58), Colin Egan for Kilmartin (59).

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway)

Attendance: 6,358

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by