McGrath Cup: Cork v CIT Today! 2013-01-06 08:37:00

Munster GAA McGrath Cup (Senior Football) Preliminary Round

Cork v Cork Institute of Technology

Date: Sunday January 6th at 2:00pm
Venue: CIT GAA Grounds
Referee: Eddie Walsh (Kerry)

Extra time - (2 periods x 10 minutes only) to be played if sides finish level at the end of 70 minutes

Admission Prices
General Admission: €5
Under 16s will admitted free

We'll have live updates from the game here on the website and on our Twitter page, @OfficialCorkGAA

The Cork team for today's game will line out as follows:

1. David Lordan

2. John McLoughlin 3. Michael Shields 4. Damien Cahalane
(Kanturk) (St. Finbarrs) (Castlehaven)

5. Denis O'Sullivan 6. Conor O'Driscoll 7. Sean Kiely
(Ballinascarthy) (Ilen Rovers) (Macroom)

8. Pearse O'Neill 9. Andrew O'Sullivan
(Aghada) (Castletownbere)

10. James Fitzpatrick 11. Paul Kerrigan 12. Odhran Mulrooney
(Carbery Rangers) (Nemo Rangers) (Douglas)

13. Colm O'Neill 14. Alan O'Connor 15. Liam Shorten
(Ballyclough) (St. Colum's) (Ballingeary)

16. Ken O'Halloran (Bishopstown)
17. Paudie Kissane (Clyda Rovers)
18. Shane Beston (Mitchelstown)
19. Noel O'Leary (Cill na Martra)
20. Chris O'Donovan (Valley Rovers)
21. Donnacha O'Connor (Ballydesmond)

Getting there: The CIT campus is located at Rossa Avenue, Bishopstown, Cork, and the Loc8Code is WDQ-23-ZT9. You'll find more information on the location at 

Bus Eireann provides regular services to and from the Bishopstown Campus. The No.5 bus runs between the City Centre / Kent Station and CIT. The No.8 runs from Mayfield to the City Centre and then to the top of Rossa Avenue, a few minutes walk from CIT. There are a number of Orbital services also available: The No.1 is the North Side Orbital and the No.19 is the South Side Orbital. All the orbital services stop outside the campus. 

For the Record 




2012 McGrath Cup Performance

Defeated Clare, CIT and Tipperary to win the McGrath Cup, winning the final v Tipperary by 0-13 to 0-6

Defeated IT Tralee before losing to Cork by 2-17 to 0-7 in the semi-final

Number of McGrath Cup Senior Football titles



Last McGrath Cup Senior Football Title



McGrath Cup Senior Football Record since 2000

Played - 18
Won - 16
Lost - 2
Drawn - 0

Played - 14
Won - 6
Lost - 8
Drawn - 0

Last meeting in the McGrath Cup

2012 Semi-Final - January 22nd at Pairc Ui Rinn
Cork 2-17 CIT 0-7 - Match Report

Fixtures and Results

Preliminary Round (Extra time)
Saturday January 5th
@ Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney, Kerry v IT Tralee @ 2:00pm
Sunday January 6th
@ Miltown-Malbay, Clare v LIT @ 2:00pm
@ Cork IT, Cork v CIT @ 2:00pm

Quarter-Finals (Extra time)
Sunday January 13th
@ Limerick venue, Limerick v Clare or LIT @ 2:00pm
@ Kerry venue or TBC, UCC v Kerry or IT Tralee @ 2:00pm
@ Cork or Tipperary venue, Tipperary v Cork or CIT @ 2:00pm
@ Waterford venue,  Waterford v UL @ 2:00pm
Semi-Finals (Extra time)
Sunday January 20th
Final (Extra time)
Sunday January 27th

McGrath Cup Senior Football - Did You Know? 

  • Since 2000, Cork's McGrath Cup success rate is 89% (best of any county) with 16 wins out of 18 in the competition. In the same period, Kerry have won 11 of their 13 matches (a 85% success rate).
  • Despite a goal-less final, there was an average of 2.4 goals per match in the 2012 McGrath Cup competition (22 goals scored in total). This contrasts with 16 goals scored in the 2011 competition over 11 matches (an average of 1.4 goals per match).
  • The record of the Third Level Colleges in the McGrath Cup since entering in 2005 is Won 21, Lost 44 (32% success rate). None of the six colleges have a winning record in the competition during that period. UCC have the best record, winning 7 of their 15 matches (47% success rate). CIT have won 6 of their 14 matches (43% success rate) followed by UL who have won 5 of their 12 matches (42% success rate). Meanwhile IT Tralee, LIT and WIT have won 3 out of 24 matches between them.
  • Kerry have not lost a match in the McGrath Cup since the 2006 final where the Kingdom lost to Cork by 1-9 to 0-6 at Pairc Ui Rinn.
  • Limerick footballers have won 1 of their last 6 matches in the McGrath Cup. Waterford have won 1 of their last 5 matches.
  • Tipperary is the only team to have won at least 1 match in the last 3 years of the McGrath Cup with a 66% record during that period, Won 6 Lost 3.
  • Clare footballers have won 4 of their last 6 matches in the McGrath Cup over the last two seasons. During that span, Clare have scored 3 goals and conceded 3 goals. 

McGrath Cup Senior Football Roll Of Honour
Clare (12) - 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1990, 1991, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2002, 2008

Cork (6) - 1998, 1999, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012

Limerick (5) - 1985, 1987, 2001, 2004, 2005

Tipperary (3) - 1989, 1993, 2003

Kerry (3) - 1996, 2010, 2011

Waterford (1) - 1981

London (1) - 1988

Visit the Munster GAA web site History section to view the complete Roll of Honour since the competition began in 1981 -

McGrath Cup

Presented by Joe McGrath RIP on June 21st, 1981 for the promotion of Senior Football in Munster


Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by