Lough Rovers capture the County Junior C Football Championship 2017-06-23 23:00:00

Junior C Football Championship Final
Lough Rovers 2-8 
St Johns 0-9

Lough Rovers capture their first county championship title since the 1940's tonight in Carrigadrohid when at the full time whistle they had 5 points to spare over a gallant St John's who have been only in existent since 2010. The Canovee club pitch was in excellent condition. Lough Rovers greater ability to convert goal scoring opportunities proving crucial in deciding this final. Both sides were guilty of wasting scoring chances throughout. 

Lough Rovers began brightly opened the scoring with a point in the 1st minute, but St John's responded by dominating the first quarter scoring points in the 2nd, 3rd, 6th, 13th and 16th minute at which stage they led 0-5 to 0-1. In a low scoring second quarter the crucial score arrive in the 24th minute with a goal for Lough Rovers. Both sides added a further point before the short whistle at which point St John's lead on a score of 0-6n to 1-2. 

In the second half Lough Rovers proved to be the stronger outfit dominating the scoring charts with the major score arriving in the 50th minute in the form of a goal which gave Lough Rovers a 4 point advantage. Lough Rovers held that advantage for the remainder of the game to run out winners and capture the County Junior C Football Championship Cup. A championship which is only in it's second season following it's introduction in 2016.

Scores for Lough Rovers: Danny Kiely 0-4, Michael Dineen 0-3 (1f), Sean Blake, Rory O Connor, 1-0 each, David Daly 0-1.

St John's: Eoin Barrett 0-4, (1f), Neil Corkery (0-2f), David Barrett, Donal Corkery, John O Mahony, 0-1 each.

Lough Rovers: Jamie O' Sullivan, John Sheehan, Danny Flaherty, Paul Joy, Kieran O Connell, Sean Keane, Chris O Callaghan. Jason Keegan, Alan O Sullivan, David Daly, Michael Dinneen, Sean Blake, Killian Murphy, Danny Kiely, Rory O Connor.

St John's: Kieran Kelly, Timmy Murphy, Denis O Keffee, Conor Lane, Patrick O Keffee, Patrick Rohan, Eoin Barrett, David Barrett, Neil Corkery, Donal Corkery, Jerome Ring, Shane Kelleher, John O Mahony, Jamie Kelleher.

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by Sportsmanager.ie