Cork qualify for the Allianz Hurling League Qtr-Finals 2017-03-26 21:00:00

Allianz Hurling League Division 1A


By Denis Hurley at Pairc Ui Rinn

Cork inflicted Tipperary’s first defeat since winning last year’s All-Ireland SHC as they reached the Allianz HL Division 1 quarter-finals following a pulsating tie at Páirc Uí Rinn on Sunday afternoon.

Patrick Horgan scored 15 points for the Rebels, including the winner deep in injury time, as Kieran Kingston’s side finished in second place in the Division 1A table.

While Cork led by 0-24 to 2-15 after three Horgan points between the 66th and 68th minutes, Séamus Callanan struck for his second and Tipp’s third goal in the final minute of normal time after gathering Noel McGrath’s sideline cut.

Horgan put Cork ahead immediately after that, but Tipp levelled once more as substitute Ronan Maher scored from a sideline. There was just enough time for one more Cork attack and Horgan was on hand to score the winner with the final puck.

Cork had the wind behind them in the first half and pulled clear midway through, scoring seven of eight points between the 18th and 32nd minutes to move 0-12 to 0-6 ahead.

Pic: George Hatchell

Tipp were boosted as half-time approached as Callanan netted following Damien Cahalane’s good block on John McGrath, and then, after Séamus Harnedy replied for Cork, McGrath nabbed a second goal.

Early sub Darragh Fitzgibbon pointed to leave Cork 0-14 to 2-6 ahead at the break and he was prominent as Cork opened up a five-point lead early in the second period but Tipp came more into the game.

Callanan, Noel McGrath and Paul Flynn, Pádraic Maher and John McGrath combined for six unanswered pointed to put them 2-14 to 0-18 in front but Horgan and Luke Meade tied matters for Cork.

Horgan’s 65, after Michael Cahalane went close to a goal, restored their lead and that would be the way it was at the end too, but not before more twists and turns late on.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-15 (10fs, 165), Darragh Fitzgibbon 0-5, Alan Cadogan, Séamus Harnedy 0-2 each, Luke Meade, Conor Lehane (f) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Séamus Callanan 2-6 (4fs, 165), John McGrath 1-1, Dan McCormack, Pádraic Maher 0-2 each, Jason Forde, Paul Flynn, Ronan Maher (sideline) 0-1 each.

CORK: Anthony Nash; Stephen McDonnell, Damien Cahalane, Colm Spillane; Christopher Joyce, Mark Ellis, Mark Coleman; Lorcán McLoughlin, Dean Brosnan; Bill Cooper, Conor Lehane, Luke Meade; Patrick Horgan, Séamus Harnedy, Alan Cadogan.

Subs: Darragh Fitzgibbon for Lehane (7, injured), Brian Lawton for Brosnan (42), Michael Cahalane for Cadogan (62).

TIPPERARY: Darren Gleeson; Michael Cahill, James Barry, John Meagher; Willie Ryan, Tomás Hamill, Pádraic Maher; Seán Curran, Kieran Bergin; Dan McCormack, Niall O’Meara, Jason Forde; Séamus Callanan, John McGrath, Tommy Heffernan.

Subs: Noel McGrath for Curran (45), Paul Flynn for Heffernan (45), Barry Heffernan for Bergin (54), John O’Dwyer for O’Meara (62), Ronan Maher for Ryan (70).

REFEREE: Brian Gavin (Offaly).

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by