Defeat for the Cork U21 Hurlers in the Munster Championship 2016-06-28 22:30:00

Limerick 3-19
Cork 2-15

Fintan O’Toole reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

LIMERICK PROVIDED PROOF that they will be a formidable force again in this year’s Bord Gáis Energy U21 hurling championship after tonight’s Munster quarter-final success against Cork in Páirc Uí Rinn.

A powerful opening to the first and second half paved the way for Limerick’s victory while substitute Oisin O’Reilly came off the bench to strike two goals in the final quarter that deservedly sealed their success.

In between those O’Reilly goals, Cork ignited hope amongst their supporters when Shane Kingston and Mark Coleman did brilliantly to hit the net in the 58th and 60th minutes.

However O’Reilly applied the finishing touch in injury-time when he fired home Limerick’s third goal after excellent approach work by fellow substitute Jack Quaid.

Ronan Lynch hit 1-8 for Limerick in a man-of-the-match display that helped propel them into a semi-final tie with Tipperary next month.

Limerick cut Cork apart at will in the opening stages and looked like they would cruise to a victory. They were in front 1-6 to 0-1 by the 9th minute and at the close of the opening quarter, they possessed a commanding nine-point lead – 1-8 to 0-2.

The reigning All-Ireland champions goal arrived in the 9th minute. Cian Lynch picked out Barry Nash with a precise pass, Nash surging clear through the central corridor of the Cork defence and hand-passing inside to the waiting Lynch who finished clinically to the net.

But in the second quarter, Cork roused themselves with Kingston and Pa O’Callaghan both in superb form. At the interval they only trailed 1-12 to 0-12 yet Limerick accelerated further clear in the second-half to go ahead 1-17 to 0-13 by the end of the third quarter.

Richie English and Darragh O’Donovan ensured Limerick gained a foothold in key sectors to close out the match. There was plenty excitement with that late flurry of goals but no disputing the right of the reigning All-Ireland champions at this level to advance.

Scorers for Limerick: Ronan Lynch 1-8 (0-6f, 0-1 ’65, 0-1 sideline), Oisin O’Reilly 2-0, Pat Ryan 0-3, Barry Nash, Darragh O’Donovan, Cian Lynch 0-2 each Tom Morrissey, Peter Casey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Shane Kingston 1-6 (0-5f), Mark Coleman 1-2 (0-1 ’65, 0-1f), Pa O’Callaghan 0-3, Conor Twomey, David Noonan, Anthony Spillane, Niall Cashman 0-1 each.

1. Eoghan McNamara (Doon)
4. Sean Flanagan (Feoghanagh)
3. Richie English (Doon)
2. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh – Captain)
5. Colin Ryan (Pallagreen)
10. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
7. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen)
8. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)
9. Pat Ryan (Doon)
6. Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
12. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
21. Barry Murphy (Doon) for Gillane (half-time)
19. Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock) for Morrissey (49)
17. Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen) for Nash (55)
20. Jack Quaid (Effin) for Dempsey (60)


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig – Captain)
2. Darren Browne (Kanturk)
3. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
4. David Griffin (Carrigaline)
5. Rickard Cahalane (Ballymartle)
6. Mark Coleman (Blarney)
7. Conor Twomey (Newtownshandrum)
8. Niall Cashman (Blackrock)
9. David Noonan (Glen Rovers)
10. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
11. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
12. Pa O Callaghan (Ballyhea)
13. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons)
14. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
15. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
21. Dayne Lee (Na Piarsaigh) for Cashman (28)
20. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers) for Noonan (41)
22. Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock) for O’Mahony (44)
24. Cathal Cormack (Blackrock) for Meade (48)
23. Mark O’Connor (Douglas) for Lee (55)

Referee: Rory McGann (Clare)

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by