Aoife Murray wins the Cork's 96FM/C103 Sports Star of the Year   07/02/2018

Aoife wins overall award;
On Friday last before a huge and appreciative gathering Cork Camogie goalkeeper and captain for the coming season Aoife Murray was named as the overall winner of the 96FM/C103 GAA Sports Star of the year in association with the Rochestown Park Hotel.

Aoife the winner of the September award was chosen from an impressive list of the 12 monthly nominees, that included several players that had anchored Cork’s hurling season that saw Munster titles won at Under 17, Minor and Senior.
The 8 time All-Ireland medal winner and 7 time All-Star proved to be a popular choice and was the recipient of a standing ovation from the attendance.

Aoife was pleasantly surprised but delighted at been selected and in a Q&A, said, “it was a brilliant year and in the end we as a team on and off the field got our just reward, and I would not be here tonight only for the hard work put in by a very dedicated group of player’s.”

She was gently reminded that 2 years ago she hinted at retirement, “yes that true, but then the motivation to win another All-Ireland was enough to keep me going.”

It should be pointed out that Aoife is Dublin based, but rarely misses a training session, and if she did her brother Paudie, the team manager, would quickly let her know “he would indeed”

As for the travelling, “It’s part of my routine now although I could do without the toll plazas.”
What does 2018 hold, “training is going well we have won our 2 games in the league and we will see where it takes us, but we are all looking forward to summer and the C’ship.”

In her address County Board Chairperson Tracey Kennedy, lauded all the monthly winners.
“It includes some of the very best hurlers, footballers and camogie players we have in our county and while only one will win the overall award, everyone of you are winners by the manner in which you played our games during the year.”
Tracey was fulsome in her praise for the award sponsors, “these are the most prestigious awards in the county and in 96FM/C103 we here in Cork are the envy of every county in the country given the outstanding coverage they give our games, while I cannot speak highly enough of the courtesy I am afforded by everyone here in the Rochestown Park Hotel and I commend them for their continued support of these awards and our games within the county.”

There were 2 other awards presented on the night, Douglas and Cork minor hurling star Brian Turnbull was the recipient of the Kieran O’Driscoll Youth Award, Brian was top scorer in the C’ship finishing with a total of 1-51, including some crucial and brilliant scores in a campaign thAt captured the imagination of the Cork public, 10,000 at a re-play on a Monday evening in Pairc Ui Rinn.

It completed a remarkable treble for this rising star as he was named Player of the Minor Hurling C’ship and Munster Minor Hurler of the year, and the presentation was made by Kieran McGeary of 96FM/C103.

Former Cork All-Ireland winning captain Tom Cashman was the recipient of the Donal Lehane Distinquished Career award which was presented by Diarmuid Vaughan of the Rochestown Park Hotel.

Tom was one of the great stylists of hurling and in won every major honour in the game.
4 All-Ireland senior medals, 8 Munster Titles, 2 NHL medals, 3 All-Star awards, 3 Railway Cup medals and was named at left half-back on the Cork hurling team of the Century, while he was a dual All-Ireland medal winner at minor.
With his club Blackrock, he collected 3 County Senior medals, 2 Munster and 1 All-Ireland club medal, and was joined on the night by family members including his brother Jim who played on the 1986 All-Ireland winning team in which Tom was captained, and described it “without doubt the highlight of my career.”

Previous winners of this award Larry Tompkins, Charlie McCarthy, John Fenton, Gerald McCarthy and John Coleman were in attendance as was former overall winner Rena Buckley.

The Banquet was attended by officers of the various Board’s, Camogie, Ladies Football, Handball and Rebel Og.
Munster Council Officers Jerry O’Sullivan and Pearse Murphy and Iar-Uachtarann CLCG Christy Cooney and John and Noreen Lehane from the Rochestown Park Hotel, while Frank Murphy, Diarmuid Gowen, Jerry Walsh, Des Cullinane and Donal Leahy represented the Cork County Board.

The awards are now entering their 15th year and the January winner will be announced in the coming days. 

Pics: Tony O Connell 

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by